Wheat-free vs. Gluten-free: Find out the difference

The term wheat-free and gluten-free have always been confusing. But there is a definite difference you need to know about. The gluten-free diet is becoming a popular fad these days and is really not essential. Unless you are either sensitive to it or is diagnosed with the celiacs disease.

The wheat-free diet is something less heard about. People who are allergic to wheat are the ones that opt for a wheat-free diet. Some symptoms include swelling throat, itchy skin, watery eyes and difficulty in breathing.

difference-gluten-wheat

But a gluten-free diet is when people are unable to digest food items with gluten in it.

One fact you should know is that wheat-free products do not mean the gluten-free. This is because people following the gluten-free diet should not only stop consuming wheat but also barley, rye, emmer, kumut, panko, farina, faro, udon, bran, and orzo.

If you neither have allergies or if you’re not sensitive to gluten, then we advise you not to follow this diet. This is because it will cause many nutritional deficiencies. And honestly, gluten-free products like bread and cornflakes does not taste good.