If you thought that wine was vegan, think again. A new study has revealed that some wine brands add animal proteins during the manufacturing of their products.
According to Ginger Hultin, of Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, manufacturers use fining agents to make the wine clear. The commonly used fining agents are casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg white), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein).
In most cases, no residues from these products are left in the wine. But then again, the usage of animal proteins during the production of a food item is also against the concept of vegans.